Follow me as a chase my dreams on the back of a horse!

~ Giving Back – Charlotte Bredahl-Baker Clinic Benefiting The Dressage Foundation ~

Charlotte Bredahl-Baker and I

 

         This year, The Dressage Foundation and Renee Isler were generous enough to award me two grants out of the Renee Isler Support Fund; one in March to participate in a clinic with Shannon Peters and one in September to participate in a clinic with Günter Seidel.  As everyone at The Dressage Foundation has been so kind and supportive, I really felt that it was my responsibility to give back to them in any way I could.  After speaking with Renee, I came up with the idea to hold a clinic to benefit The Dressage Foundation.  It all took off from there!

Riding Annie

          The first and most important task was finding a great clinician.  My aunt, Shari Patterson-Blaylock, a horse trainer in Payson, AZ, recommended Charlotte Bredahl-Baker because she used to train with her when she was younger.  I emailed Charlotte and she was gracious enough to agree to come to Arizona for a two-day clinic.  She even donate one day at no cost so we could raise even more for the Foundation!  Jim and Cathy Heitel, owners of Round Mountain Ranch, donated their facility at no cost.  I was able to fill the clinic fairly easily as so many riders were eager to work with Charlotte.  Many other details went on behind the scenes, such as organizing ride times, making lunches, attracting auditors, etc.

Annie and I in the clinic.

          This is the first clinic I have ever organized, and I’m proud to say that it went even better than I had hoped.  But, there were many nerves and frantic phone calls trying to make it happen.  In the few weeks before the clinic a few riders had to drop out for various reasons that were scheduled to ride in the clinic.  My own horse even got a hoof abscess a couple days before the clinic, so I had to borrow a horse from my trainer Ashleigh Luca Tyson.  There were so many scheduling changes and other concerns.  Luckily, all of the crises were averted and everything fell into place for the clinic. 

          Charlotte is a great clinician and everyone greatly enjoyed their rides with her, including myself.  She was super patient and understanding with each horse and rider, pushing them but never overstepping any boundaries.  Every single auditor seemed to take something valuable away from the clinic as well.  All in all I would say it was a great success.  After counting all of the profits from the clinic, I concluded that I was able to raise about $1,500 for The Dressage Foundation! 

          If you have ever been lucky enough to receive support from The Dressage Foundation, or if you just appreciate everything they have done for American riders, trainers and breeders, seriously consider giving back to them in some way.  It can be something big or something small, it really is the effort that counts.  They have done so much for so many people, I feel it is our turn to help them out so they can continue to support and help develop American dressage.  I hope to put on a clinic at least once a year to benefit The Dressage Foundation, so if there are any top riders or clinicians out there that would be willing to donate at least part of their time to teach a clinic here, please contact me at crcdressage@yahoo.com.

          Lastly, there are so many people I need to thank for helping me.  These include Charlotte Bredahl-Baker for teaching the clinic and donating her time, Jim and Cathy Heitel for loaning the use of their facility, everyone at Westwind South Dressage for their kindness and support, the Arizona Dressage Association for loaning their sound system and Chad Farmer for setting it up, Brianna Boone and her mother Karen Windsor-Worrel for their help during the clinic, my parents Annie and Glen Chamberlain for helping me run the clinic, my trainer Ashleigh Luca Tyson for letting me ride her mare in the clinic, Renee Isler for her continuous help and support, and countless others!  Thank you all!  Also, THANK YOU to The Dressage Foundation for their tireless work and dedication to American dressage! 

~Cat~

http://crcdressage.homestead.com

Leave a comment