Follow me as a chase my dreams on the back of a horse!

~ Into the New Year! ~

 

     The holidays have passed and we are now into 2012!  I was both happy and sad to see the end of 2011.  On one hand, it ended up being quite a tough year as I shattered my elbow in May and had to go through a long and painful recovery.  On the other hand, 2011 opened up many new opportunities and changes as I met several wonderful people, had amazing experiences, and rode numerous incredible horses, so all in all it turned out pretty well and I am now living my dreams!  I really don’t have any major New Year’s resolutions, but there are a few things I would like to accomplish.  I feel I have really improved a lot in my riding since becoming a working student back in August for my trainer Ashleigh Luca Tyson, but there are always things that we can improve upon in dressage.  So, I hope to find different and more creative ways to use my body to communicate with my horse, to increase my patience and understanding of training a horse, and to create fit and happy athletes with the horses I have the privilege to work with.

Receiving my United States Dressage Federation Silver Medal Rider Award in December of 2011

     I also wish to do several shows in both Arizona and California this year.  I am working with a new horse right now named Accolades, a big 12-year-old, 17.3 hand Holsteiner.  We are going to start out at some local Arizona shows and hopefully finish off the show season by doing a few CDI’s in California.  It is always fun to have a new project and so exciting to see the progress made each week!  It would be great if we could also squeeze in a few clinics with some great clinicians this year, as well.

Riding Accolades

     I am graduating from high school this spring, so now I need to figure out how to fit in college and still continue on my quest to becoming a professional rider and trainer with the goal of representing the U.S. internationally.  I also plan on continuing to work on my fitness and health so that I can be in just as good of shape as the horses I ride!  And most importantly, I will strive for happiness because I believe that happiness is success, no matter how many ribbons you win or how big of scores you may receive.  If you are happy then you have indeed accomplished something great.  In dressage we all strive for perfection, but I have come believe that perfection means accepting your flaws and doing your best to overcome them.  After all, we are only human!  We all make mistakes big and small, but the biggest battle we will ever face is recognizing our errors, doing our best to make amends, and then brushing ourselves off and swinging once more into the saddle, both figuratively and literally.  So, here’s to a Happy New Year for all!  I wish you the best as we head into what I hope will be a wonderful year!  Live it up! 

Looking forward to 2012!

~Cat~

 

 

Leave a comment